Recent Match Report – Australia vs India 1st ODI 2022/23

Toss India chose to bowl vs Australia

In the absence of Rohit Sharma, who missed out because of family commitments, India’s stand-in captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to chase in the first ODI at the Wankhede Stadium. Hardik expected dew to play a role in the second half, and that played a part in his decision.

India went in with three seamers in Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur, apart from Hardik himself. Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav are the two spinners.

Australia had to make a late change with Alex Carey being unwell; Josh Inglis replaced him in the XI. David Warner is also not 100%, and that means Mitchell Marsh will open the innings. Marsh is making a comeback after his ankle surgery and is playing this series as a specialist batter. Steven Smith leads the side in the absence of Pat Cummins.

The match is being played on the centre pitch at Wankhede stadium, so there’s no real short or long boundary. The surface has an even covering of grass, and the ball is expected to come onto the bat nicely. With Marcus Stoinis carded at No. 8, Australia have the required batting depth to aim for a dew-proof total.

India: 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 KL Rahul (wk), 6 Hardik Pandya (capt), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Mohammed Shami

Australia: 1 Travis Head, 2 Mitchell Marsh, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Josh Inglis (wk), 6 Cameron Green, 7 Glenn Maxwell, 8 Marcus Stoinis, 9 Sean Abbott, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Adam Zampa

Source link

Leave a Comment